The starting

To think of it, the starting was rather unceremonious. I was going to a different city for some official work. In the airport I met RD. He was also going on the same assignment, to the same city.

Our project started. It was different, difficult at times, taxing, quite engaging. I began to enjoy it slowly. The bad timings, the strict discipline, the unknown language, the local food, the cozy place I was staying in – I absorbed it all like a sponge. And after a week maybe, I stopped missing home. I stopped feeling awkward in a bunch of people all speaking different languages. I felt this is my place.

The dates started casually. Two like minds in an unknown city will obviously flock together, be it for movies or food or weekends. And then the conversation. That look in his eyes. The hunger coursing through. The slow forgetting of where I came from, what I was, what will people say. It occurred naturally. It was as if a drama was unfolding in front of me, and I was just a spectator who had no control over the events. On the beautiful backdrop of mother nature, the love flourished (I can use this word so casually because I have crossed some time since then. I was in denial mostly).

Slowly the outside world faded out. There was only these two living beings in the world. Each day we would do a countdown to see how much time we have left. It was a bubble in which we were living. Both were acutely aware of what was going to happen; it just made us more desperate.

One month passed like a moment….and the time came.

One thought on “The starting

  1. “Slowly the outside world faded out. There was only these two living beings in the world. Each day we would do a countdown to see how much time we have left. It was a bubble in which we were living. ”

    This is really soulful – heartfelt. I loved this piece.

Leave a Reply

